New video game soundtrack for ABSOLVER features work by Austin Wintory & RZA

Laced Records and Austin Wintory, in partnership with SloClap and Devolver Digital, will release the Absolver (Original Soundtrack) worldwide on deluxe double vinyl, CD and digital formats from today. The game’s 20-track original score by award-winning composer Austin Wintory (Journey, Abzu, Assassin’s Creed Syndicate) includes a brand new exclusive track co-produced by RZA (Wu-Tang Clan, Afro Samurai).

In the lead up to release developer Sloclap and Wintory enlisted the talents of legendary producer and Wu-Tang founder RZA, to co-produce the final “Risyn Boss Theme” for the game. RZA, a big fan of video games and Kung Foo, known for his work on Afro Samurai worked with Austin over a couple of weeks to bring the final boss theme to life. Wintory was brought onto the Absolver team during development, assisting in creating the feel of the world where an aesthetic was already strongly suggested. This resulted in a fascinating, balletic score that complements the fluid combat.

Laced Records continue their commitment to producing the ultimate video game soundtrack collectibles with Absolver, re-mastering Wintory’s score specifically for vinyl. Pressed on double translucent red heavyweight 180g vinyl and delivered in a deluxe gatefold sleeve, the release also features exclusive original artwork by El Huervo (Hotline Miami, else.heartbreak).

The CD features all 20 tracks and original artwork by Costa Rican artist Angela Bermúdez.

Wintory commented on the soundtrack: “I wrote the music in a pure and holistic way about the emotional experience [of Absolver]. Our creative director Pierre described the game as ‘combat through friendship’ during our very first call, and so it was crucial that the music reflect that underlying empathy. It’s about giving strength to your adversaries, while they strengthen you. So the music becomes this kind of dance, like the two players are engaged in a ballet together. Conveniently this approach also helped us avoid the clichés of the martial arts genre, which both the developers and I were very keen to avoid!”

Absolver is a martial arts focused action role playing and fighting game which was released on August 29th for PlayStation 4 and Windows PC to positive reviews. It features unique components such as a deck building component for tactics and extremely sophisticated multiplayer features.


The deluxe double vinyl and CD can be pre-ordered exclusively via the Laced Records stores:



The digital version is available now via Austin Wintroy’s official Bandcamp page:

Absolver is available now on PlayStation 4 and Windows PC:


About Austin Wintory:

Austin is an award-winning composer of multiple video games soundtracks, including Journey – the first ever Grammy nominated video game score, The Banner Saga, ABZÛ, Assassin’s Creed Syndicate. His work has been recognised multiple times by major industry organizations like GameTrailers, IGN, Movie Music UK, the International Film Music Critics Association and the Hollywood Music in Media Awards.

Austin has also scored nearly 50 feature films, and his first major film score, for the Sundance Film Festival-winning film Captain Abu Raed, was shortlisted for the 2009 Academy Awards for Best Original Score by the LA Times.

He also serves on the Board of Directors for the non-profit Education Through Music – Los Angeles, as well as the Board of Directors for the Society of Composers and Lyricists.

Track Listing:
  1. Path of the Prospects
  2. Shards of an Empire
  3. The Guidance Bridge
  4. Folding
  5. A Harbor of Splinters
  6. Hands Oustretched
  7. The Hunting Path
  8. Raslan Coliseum
  9. The Madness of Kuretz
  10. Oratian Quarter
  11. Reflections
  12. Dancing on Cenotaphs
  13. The Tower of Adal
  14. Adalian Columbary
  15. Gargal and Kilnor, Children of Warlords
  16. Imperial Library
  17. The Bird Callers Outpost
  18. A Forgotten Temple
  19. Risyn, Rogue Absolver (Co-produced with RZA)
  20. We Will Call on You
Share this: